Is this real life?

It is still so surreal that I am here right now. Every time I have down time, I think about the plane trip here and all we have already done. It’s like living a dream. I have never been to a place more interesting and beautiful. I am afraid I am going to come back and forget everything, just like when you wake up from a dream. I know it won’t happen, but I just can’t wrap my head around this opportunity I have been given.

View from Castle Hill, looking over the Danube to the Pest side.

The morning came too soon. My fault. What did I learn from this experience? Do not shower right before sleepy time. I rolled out of bed needing to tame my fro. Well, my straightener is 130 watts, concerned that I would blow out the circuit … Jenny, kindly enough, has been letting me use hers. Unfortunately, like all new things, I need to find a rhythm. I haven’t yet, and it takes me twice as long. After getting ready, I went downstairs to get breakfast. I was approached again by the same staff member from yesterday … Thankfully, she remembered me. We both had a good laugh remembering the language barrier from the previous morning. I had my usual: bread and jam, eggs and pears. Today they had a special at breakfast, similar to our grits, with small grains. YUM!!! 😀 I was the first downstairs this morning … I told you I wouldn’t be late again. We jumped in the taxi and headed off to Playboy.

We met Attila’s brother, Istvan, at the Playboy headquarters. Istvan is the deputy editor of the four-person staff. We were seated in the conference room and given an abundant amount of Hungarian cookies and pretzels, along with juice, water and Coca-Cola Light (Diet Coke). It is customary in Hungary for the host to provide guests with beverages and snacks. The group at Playboy was very engaging. I haven’t actually looked or read a Playboy, so it was really interesting to hear Istvan and his co-workers confront the stereotypes that have been formulated. Some of us had a really good discussion about women activists and women rights. Is the right of the women to choose to feel liberated by posing on a cover? We didn’t come to a conclusion, but Istvan noted the magazine isn’t designed to be trashy or to belittle women. In comparison, we learned that Playboy circulates to 20,000 in Hungary vs. the 1.5 million in the United States.

Istvan the deputy editor (editor in chief) at Playboy, in Hungary.

My favorite thing was learning that on every cover of Playboy there is a hidden Playboy bunny. I was handed a stack, and Anika, the designer for Playboy, watched me go through every cover finding the bunny. The first magazine took forever. When I gave up, Anika pointed it out, and I was embarrassed that I didn’t see it. I was determined then on not give up. By the end, I had gone through every stack and actually found them pretty quick. After finding so many bunnies on the cover, it was easier to figure out how to find them based on the cover layout. I felt accomplished! 😀 All the Playboy headquarters review the work of others and share their stories. It is a true honor to have your story and design in another magazine. I suppose this shocked me because I assumed the Hungarian Playboy featured only Hungarian models and stories. Yes, it is included in every issue; however, it is a global effort, featuring articles from around the world. Istvan said, “It’s not about the parties or the bunnies, we are running a magazine.” This quote helped me begin to appreciate the entertainment and art of Playboy – rather than judge the publication as women posing naked for men. My outlook has completely changed with the inside view of the work. I was even given this month’s magazine, in Hungarian, to bring back.

Hungarian Playboy magazines.

We walked to Central Market after our visit at Playboy. WOW! I can’t even describe how amazing this was. I would compare it to the size of Lucas Oil Stadium, which if you haven’t seen it… it is HUGE! Two floors of little shops that stretched forever long. Prices ranged from no thanks, reasonable, and a lot cheaper than most places.

We walked in and a blast of raw meat wafted over us. Ew. You look into the cases and you can see the meat, hanging and cut, shaped like the parts they came from, such as pig heads and feet. The place was packed; suck it in and say “excuse me,” and pray that they understand and don’t think you are a rude American. We went straight for the food, except Jessica and Molly. We lost them as soon as we walked in. The rest of us had Paprika Sausage with bread and mustard. Really good, a tad spicy, and it filled me up quick. The retail man for the venue kicked people away from a table so we could eat because we bought something. He also yelled at a homeless man for grabbing food out of the trash. Is it considered stealing if you pull it out of the trash?

After that, I was a goner. I was looking at scarves, painted eggs, toys, clothes, the list goes on. All the trinkets, and I am on a budget . I decided to not spend all my money on Monday. Lame. I did spend some chunk of change, but thankfully you get more for your money here. Scarves are my new obsession. I can’t believe how beautiful they all are. I feel like I need one in every color. I also think I can’t afford them all. Problem. We left the market and dropped all our new possessions off at the hotel before heading out to meet Ball State PR alum Attila Schillinger and staff at his agency.

Central Market

Pigs feet.

Shops lined up inside Central Market.

Very few, of the many scarf displays.

We walked down our street, Raday utca, to Attila’s public relations agency. I saw the most odd thing on the street – two freshly baked pizza’s sitting on a table outside of the restaurant with a menu to entice walkers to come in. First off, I couldn’t fathom wasting these pizzas. Secondly, I thought it was an odd advertising scheme.

Avantgarde Group is a consultant group that takes a more strategic approach to business problems. As soon as we walked in, we were again greeted with desserts and beverages. These were more of a bread pastry. I tried the milk and olive flavored bites. Very yummy! No worries. I easily broke the ice, with the 11 staff members, who sat in and talked with us by spilling water when trying to get creative with my pictures. The agency has 23 staff members who work to work on international and local relationships. They are the most marketable agency in Hungary because they have such a diverse staff. They ensure their work is broader than just PR, focusing on crisis management, media training, industry relations, expert relations and special events.

The environment from dinner last night flowed over to this afternoon. Attila is so easy to listen to, and he puts things in easy terms so that those of us who do not understand or study PR understand what he is talking about. He truly is so easy to talk to, and he is very genuine.  I am not surprised when he compared his method of work to the movie of “Troy” – the scene when Brad Pitt has the shield protecting his back and the sword in front ready to fight anything in front of him. Attila and his agency work to be the shield that defend the backs of the clients, as well as protect the company in its move forward into the future. Great analogy. I haven’t even seen the movie, but I knew the picture that he was talking about, and he made it more vivid when relating it to his business.

After taking lots of pictures at the office, we headed back down Raday to the hotel! Luckily we left some time in the schedule for more shopping.

The street we are staying on also happens to be the same street that Attilas PR firm is on.

The delicious advertising tactics.

Whenever you walk into a room, you are greeted with drinks and snacks.

Attila, Ball State Alumni.

We worked our way up the street, and Sheryl and I branched off from the group and stopped in just about every store on our way back. I only bought one more scarf at this point. I was proud, though. There is so much for so little here. I just want one of everything so I can show everyone. It was great just talking with Sheryl. She has definitely gained mother status on this trip. We were able to hold educational conversations about the future, and the plans I had; and even though I am more confused now than ever on what it is I want, I never felt judged for being uncertain. We also talked about my nieces and nephews, which everyone knows I can go on forever about. I was able to listen to her favorite things to shop for, her experiences from the last trip, and we talked about scarves and jewelry in just about every store. It was just an overall great walk back to the hotel.

A short break before we had to head down to catch a taxi for dinner. Tonight we went on a boat dinner down the Danube. PERFECT opportunity for me to get all the night pictures I have been looking forward to. We called the taxis, one showed up immediately and the other showed up 10 minutes after the first had left. This was unusual since they usually arrive within seconds of each other. I decided to jump in the second one, so I waited with Jenny and Sheryl. This seems to be the usual taxi seating … I think I need to change it up.

Today was not my day for taxi rides. This morning, leaving Playboy, I was distracted by the scenery and my picture taking, when all of a sudden I was jerked forward as we were slamming on our brakes and flying into the next lane (which had cars in front of and behind us). Since this driving is completely normal here … No other drivers were concerned.

On our way to dinner, I experienced the most terrifying taxi experience, thus far. The driver was flying between cars, nearly hitting a bicyclist (they don’t have bike lanes), and testing busses and other cars (sort-of like playing chicken while driving) to see who would be the next to go … We always were, I think the other drivers knew the type of aggressive driver they were up against. Usually I am pretty competitive, but in a situation like this … I would have been more than OK with allowing the bus to win. I am not a gambler, but I think they have a better odds at winning. My absolute favorite part of the taxi rides is hearing the frustrated “huff” from the drivers … unfortunately, following these deep exhales there is a brief moment when I somehow end up fearing for my life.

Sorry, got a bit side-tracked. So we end up making it alive to the dinner on the Danube. We were dropped off in this shady ally and told it was down and to the left. Funny, we weren’t near any water that we could see. Is this a joke!? We ask assistance and are directed to the building next door. The inside structure of this building was gorgeous. While waiting for our walk to the boat, I decided to take the time to do some detail shots of this old structure. A large group is then directed, in true tour fashion, to the boat. We board and are seated in a little cove by ourselves. It was beautiful. The food was set up in a large buffet style and was directed in the most unorganized fashion. The boat was slender and didn’t have a lot of walking room.. not to mention there is a buffet down the center with tables surrounding it. So they let all the tables go at one, and they didn’t have a direction set up to help it move efficiently. Poor planning. I have been doing so well tracking my food. This was a disaster, so much without titles. However, I did have goulash, and it was fabulous. It is like our beef stew. There was also chicken, steamed vegetables, bread, sausage, cabbage rolls, different salad options (more like pasta salads… without pasta, but nothing with lettuce. Olives, oils, tomatoes, corn, etc). The list of items is forever long, and, of course, it ends in desserts. Always yummy!

After I was finished eating, I went up to the top deck for some air and pictures. Motion sickness hit when I realized I was enclosed on the bottom. When I had fresh air, I was much better. The night was perfect, a little chilly, but the sky was clear, and the pictures were amazing. Postcard worthy, I think, yes! 😀

Our dinner boat on the Danube River

The buffet was full of popular Hungarian dishes.

My yummy plate of food and wine!

The Liberty Bridge all lit up at night!

The Chain Bridge looks beautiful lit up with white lights.

Group photo!

When we got back to the hotel, we decided to have a blogging and a “lets see what you have purchased” party. Exhilarating! It was great to just relax and hang out with everyone. I think it is easy to break off or stay in your room on downtime. I am glad we did this early in the week, and I hope we keep it up.

Well, tomorrow is a new day. The morning will come too soon … You know the routine. A day at Parliament, the spa, our wine tasting at the House of Hungarian Wines, and a night out on the town with Julia Sabatine. 😀 Laughs and good fun to look forward, too! PLUS, it is International Women’s Day. Something taken very seriously here. Rumor has it, flowers are given to all women. This is a holiday not celebrated in the U.S., but it is recognized around the world?! Jump on it America!

Goodnight world!

About caphillips2

Junior/Senior Major: Photojournalism Minor: Leadership Studies. Involvement in: Ball State University Dance Marathon, Phi Mu Fraternity, Excellence In Leadership, Relay for Life, Freshman Orientation Leader, Welcome Week Leader, Cardinal Leadership And Service Seminar, and Campus Tour Guide. View all posts by caphillips2

Leave a comment