National Art Museum and dinner with important people!

Alarm clock of death! I have gotten plenty of sleep and haven’t experienced any jet lag (knock on wood), but these beds are so comfortable that I had NO desire to move.

Rolling out of bed, Jenny and I were the first to arrive at breakfast. Turns out, in Budapest, it is uncommon for people to wear pajamas to breakfast. We American college students pulled our usual routine of eating and then getting ready.

The breakfast  buffet was elaborate: cereal, eggs, bread and jam, fruits, meats and cheeses. For those that know me, I typically am not a breakfast eater, and I am very particular about my eggs. This breakfast was dynamite. The fruit has so much flavor, including jams and beverages. It goes to show the preservatives and sugars are unnecessary. The eggs, fire. I could seriously down these eggs for every meal.

Jenny and I ate the same thing for breakfast every morning. Delicious!

I was approached by a staff member, asking if I were a member. My mind was racing, “A what? I mean I have no idea what this means. Can I not eat unless I am? Is Sheryl a member, because I know she told us breakfast was free …” I pulled out my room key, and said “I am a guest.” She was adamant on figuring out if I were a member, so I told her I was here with my professor for a class, and I wasn’t sure if she was a member. I followed her to the door, and she pulled out a clipboard asking for my name. Ahhhh, she wanted my room number. We figured out, at least I did, that members and guests are the same thing, and sure enough.. I am!

After breakfast, Jenny and I went upstairs to get ready. Well unfortunately there is no clock in our room, and we have now been late both days. THIS WILL NOT HAPPEN AGAIN! I hate being late, and I am pretty sure their time goes faster than ours. No? You don’t think so? Hmm.

We grabbed our taxis and headed off to the National Museum of Art. Just so you all are aware, I never want to hear a comment about my driving again. The streets are so narrow, and there is parking on both sides of the street. Mix this together with no speed limits, impatient drivers, a lot of horns, and swerving, and you have just experienced Hungarian driving.  Of course, between holding on to my seat and trying to take in the beautiful scenery, I am also taking pictures of everything we pass. I can’t get enough of this city.

We used City Taxi for the majority of our trip! Highly recommended!

Entrance into the National Museum of Art.

The museum was breathtaking. We had access to three floors. The first floor, was artwork from the 1700s – mostly dark war paintings on display with some sculptures.

Artwork from the 1800s was on the second floor. A lot of this artwork was very detail-oriented portraits and scenery. Some of my favorite artwork were the portraits in this era. Benczúr Gyula painted “All My Children” in 1881, a picture of four young children. The detail was so realistic in both “All My Children” and another one of my favorite pictures, “Portrait of my Family” by Than Mor, completed in 1855. The pictures are captivating. I felt as though I was drawn to this style of painting because of the passion I have for portrait photography. I needed to get extremely close in them to see the cracks and brush strokes to tell they were artwork.

Gyula Benczúr - All My Children, 1881

Than Mor –Portrait of my Family, 1855

One of the staff members was not OK with us examining the artwork so closely – that or she hates Americans. She followed us through the exhibit. When we stopped, she stopped only a few paces behind us. Rude! 🙂 Making our way to the third floor, I found my favorite artwork in the museum – piece painted by Bíró József in 1927. “Franciscan Square” was a vibrant piece of work that emphasized life on the square. I am not sure what drew me to this picture, but I couldn’t look away from it. Unfortunately, I know nothing about art or brush strokes so I can’t give any further educated description of it. (Naturally, the picture I want everyone to see can’t be found online.)

The view around the museum was awe inspiring. I truly do not believe we have a word that fully describes what you see. The Danube River below and the Chain Bridge, Parliament, Liberty Statue, and nearly the entire city can be seen in all directions. Not to mention, the area we were in was breathtaking.

We meandered through the little shops outside the museum, and I tried Glühwein, hot wine, and it was absolutely amazing… no need for gloves when you have hot wine.

I also had a Kürtőskalács, a Transylvania funnel cake, which is like an elephant ear, in the shape of a cylinder.  Very delicious! We had lunch at a small diner, and I ordered Toszkán Melegszendvics, or Tuscan Toast, which is like a panini. YUM! We shopped some more and found another area with a fabulous view for more opportunities of pictures. 🙂

Parliament across the Danube Rive

Looking at the Chain Bridge over to the Pest side.

Hot wine!

Kürtőskalács – lovely deliciousness!

We had about an hour back at the hotel before dinner so I used the time to upload the pictures from the afternoon’s adventures. We have free Wifi here, unfortunately it takes a few tries and a long wait to upload the pictures.

I then took a 5-minute catnap while those uploaded, put on my NEW scarf and headed out the door for dinner with Attila Schillinger, Julia Sabatine, Marta Rusko, and Jandi (Yan-di) Jantner. Attila and Julia are BSU alumni. Attila started his public relations company here, and Julia came to work for him sometime after she graduated. Marta and Jandi both work with the agency as well.

I have heard many stories about the two from our instructor, Sheryl Swingley; however, she hadn’t done them justice in fully describing who they were. Finally being able to put them and their personalities with the people Sheryl described was awesome. The humor and knowledge, from all of them made for a relaxed and fun dinner!

John Bull Pub for dinner with the Avantgarde Group.

The group at dinner!

The evening was full of laughs and chatter. I don’t think the restaurant was quiet until we left. For our appetizer, we had samples of duck liver, deep fried pork fat, eggplant spread (for bread) and langosh. I made a vow to myself, at the beginning of the trip, that I would try anything that I had the opportunity for. So tonight I tried it all. Some things never change. I don’t like liver in Budapest, either. It was the only one that made my gag, which I suppose is good. The deep fried pork fat tasted like deep fried bacon, which makes sense. It was not my favorite, but I am glad I tried it. The eggplant spread was descent. I could eat it again. And the langosh was amazing. Langosh is an unsweetened doughnut with sour cream and shredded cheese spread across the top. I ordered Fogasfilé Rántva Petrezselymes Burgonyá Tartármártassal, or in English I ordered breaded pike-perch with parsley potatoes, for dinner. It was the most amazing fish I have ever had. It literally melted in your mouth. The potatoes were wonderful and full of flavor! We also ordered dessert, which is a real treat since I never do it at home! I ordered Geszenyepüre Rumos Meggyel Tejszínhabbal, chestnut puree with rum flavored cherry and whipped cream!!! 😀

Appetizers!

Fogasfilé Rántva Petrezselymes Burgonyá Tartármártassal

Dinner was full of laughs and stories. Hearing the PR, traveling and college experiences helped put the trip into perspective. It also helped remind us that they have been in our shoes, and they’re not as intimidating as I thought before the trip. Hearing Attila talk about his stories from his first time in the States was priceless. Thankfully we have Sheryl and the others who have traveled abroad before.

Although money still throws me for a loop, I think it is just the math and I am getting better at it.

Our drive back to the hotel was exciting. Seeing everything that we had seen earlier at night, all lit up, was a whole new aspect. I feel the need to walk to the Danube and take pictures to prove the magic of it all. I can’t wait until our dinner on the Danube … it won’t be disappointing.

Tomorrow is a new day, involving a visit to Playboy, and to Attila’s PR agency. I can’t wait to update you all, but I officially need some sleep. Can’t be late in the a.m.

Goodnight world!

About caphillips2

Junior/Senior Major: Photojournalism Minor: Leadership Studies. Involvement in: Ball State University Dance Marathon, Phi Mu Fraternity, Excellence In Leadership, Relay for Life, Freshman Orientation Leader, Welcome Week Leader, Cardinal Leadership And Service Seminar, and Campus Tour Guide. View all posts by caphillips2

Leave a comment